A Procrastinator's Journal

Thinking aloud…

Troubles with Gnome NetworkManager

leave a comment »

I always thought NetworkManager was a pain. But I stuck with it because I was too lazy to find/write an alternative. But when it repeatedly deleted my static IP settings for wired links, that was the trigger.
This problem is discussed here:

http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-lists/Ubuntu/2008-11/msg02734.html

And I found wicd, a nice alternative to NetworkManager. Seems sensible to me, works well with wired LAN. Will try it on the eeepc for wireless next.

Update: Have been using wicd for over two months- works great for both wired and wireless.

I’m leaning away from the gnome-desktop. I remember the good old days of wmx. I should try the xfce or fluxbox once again.

Written by ppatil

March 29, 2009 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

