A Procrastinator's Journal

Thinking aloud…

Back after a long hiatus…

with 3 comments

It seems long long ago that I used to blog. Then I lost the enthu and momentum, partly due to other pressures in life. Not that it helped me channel my resources better towards tasks at hand. I’ve been procrastinating about resuming writing, especially since I am writing my thesis now and unconstrained writing does seem to help break the writers’ block that I often get into.

A lot has happened over the past two years–I have a daughter who will turn two this April. I lost my grandfather exectly one year back, on 15th March 2008. Parental duties turned out to be more demanding than anticipated. Other family crises taught me a lot about human relationships. Or perhaps one just becomes wiser with age!

On professional front, things have been less turbulant. I just presented my pre-synopsis seminar couple of weeks back. Now I have to finish writing the thesis and submit it within the next three months. Polishing the results (the presentation, not the content!) and the overall presentation seems like a daunting task, but I guess one just has to go through it.

Of course, there are rewards waiting. The biggest reward is change. Change of place, work responsibilities, house, city, company, professional status, blah blah blah. But change to what? I don’t know. For some reason I am not feeling enthusiastic to search for jobs. I know it seems foolish from career point of view but some things are just like that. I just want to worry about thesis right now, although it means sitting idle for some time. Maybe that’s what I am looking forward to, sitting idle! But this idle probably means ‘not doing something career-oriented’. At this stage of life, I don’t see myself as a career-oriented professional, and my understanding of ‘success’ keeps changing at every stage.

Enough of self-obsessed blabbering. Maybe I’ll resume some useful writing on this blog. On the subject of usefulness, my post on recipe for Biryani seems to have contributed more to humankind than all my research over the years. Maybe I should focus more on that in future🙂

Written by ppatil

March 16, 2009 at 5:11 am

Posted in General Stuff

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aha! well done man. persevere on for the next few months – that is its own fun too. and the idleness sounds like an excellent short term plan.

    and nice you notice what contributions of yours are recognized😉

    solzaire

    March 17, 2009 at 10:14 am

  2. Aha! So this blog is still on your feed-list😉 I was under the impression only google/technorati send visitors to my blog!

    ppatil

    March 17, 2009 at 11:51 am

  3. Me too!😛

    SameerDS

    March 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm


Leave a Reply

