A Procrastinator's Journal

Thinking aloud…

I’m the milk

leave a comment »

Many of you would have probably seen this post, but I liked it so much that I have to post it here.

Excerpted from Gaurav Sabnis’ blog:

… I stood in the “thorough” queue, and looked at others standing in the queue. Most of the folks were either black or brown, but there were one or two white men as well. One such white man was standing behind me. He probably noticed me observing the composition fo the queue and said to me,

“I’m the milk.”

“Beg your pardon?”, I said, not sure if I heard him right. Did he just say he was the milk?

“I’m the milk” he said and seeing the puzzled expression on my face, went on “The milk added to make sure this coffee doesn’t seem too dark.” …

Discrimination is a reality. It is not just based on race, but also on gender, language, education, social status, nationality, religion, and so on. Some of it is explicit, rest is taboo to speak of.

And whether it’s present or not, it’s there on everyone’s mind.

Written by ppatil

October 28, 2005 at 12:15 pm

Posted in General Stuff

Leave a Reply

